The Republic of Mauritius is an island nation in the Indian Ocean about 2,000 kilometers (1,200 mi) off the southeast coast of the African continent. The country includes the islands of Mauritius and Rodrigues, 560 kilometers east of Mauritius, and the outer islands (Agaléga, St. Brandon and two disputed territories). The islands of Mauritius and Rodrigues form part of the Mascarene Islands, along with nearby Réunion, a French overseas department. The area of the country is 2,040 km2 with a population of 1,262,132. The capital and largest city is Port Louis. The people of Mauritius are multiethnic, multi-religious, multicultural and multilingual, and the country is known for its varied flora and fauna, with many species endemic to the island.

Showing 13 from 13 Items

Toggle Filters
Sort by: