The Union of the Comoros is a sovereign archipelago island nation in the Indian Ocean. It is located at the northern end of the Mozambique Channel off the eastern coast of Africa between northeastern Mozambique and northwestern Madagascar. Other countries near the Comoros are Tanzania to the northwest and the Seychelles to the northeast. The Union of the Comoros has three official languages – Comorian, Arabic, and French – and majority of the population is Muslim. At 1,660 km2 (640 sq mi), excluding the contested island of Mayotte, the Comoros is the third-smallest African nation by area. The population, excluding Mayotte, is estimated at 795,601. As a nation formed at a crossroads of different civilisations, the archipelago is noted for its diverse culture and history.

Showing 7 from 7 Items

Toggle Filters
Sort by: